Black Mamba

Dreaming should be peaceful. A smooth black face, with yellow eyes with slits for pupils followed by a length of shiny black scales should not jolt anyone awake.

Please tell the dream fairy to send the scary snake away. I am too old for nightmares.

I want to ride unicorns into dense green forests, followed by a flock of butterflies, not come face to face with a deadly serpent.

That black mamba awakened me, tonight. There are times when I don’t sleep well, and I’m often plagued by nightmares, but this one was so vivid, my first impulse was to reach for the vodka, but it’s 1:20 a.m. and the liquor stores are all closed.

Please tell me it’s not an omen.

 

 

 

 

 

About Jane Wilson

Jane Wilson graduated from the University of Michigan Law School, was a trial attorney for 25 years and has served on the faculty of the National Institute for Trial Advocacy on numerous occasions. She was an Adjunct Professor of Law at Cleveland State University for several years and served as an Interim Associate Professor of Law in the clinical program at Case Law School. In 2009, she returned to the small southwestern Michigan community where she was raised, and wrote a novel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Black Mamba

  1. sammee44 says:

    I hate snakes so this is definitely a nightmare! I’ll have a shot of Kahlua liqueur and a dark chocolate fudge brownie to ward this off. . .

  2. Oh, dear! Spit three times and chase the memories of that nasty yellow-eyed snake away with some strong spirits of resistance. Chocolate and potato chips help, too. Sending better dream vibes for tonight!

  3. I have to say that is one scary nightmare although I don’t believe I have ever dreamed (or even considered dreaming of) unicorns. Spider dreams have me reaching for strong drink and checking the bedding. May you have better dreams tonight. ~nan

  4. Jane Wilson says:

    I’ve contracted some type of awful virus, and now realize this was a “fever dream.” Haven’t been able to eat since Thursday and while I keep expecting to feel better, it still hasn’t run its course. I’ll stay away from the keyboard until I’ve recovered!

Leave a Reply

