Why I gave up writing

A couple of years ago, I gave up writing. The reasons for my decision are far less important than its consequences.

My friends are serious about their writing. When we communicated regularly, our interactions were typically so hilarious I laughed several times a day as I recalled someone’s brilliant quip. Just as often, I found myself revisiting a particularly lovely phrase, enjoying the combination of words, or the image they conjured.

I miss those interactions. Particularly now, anything that can make me laugh would be welcome. When I stopped writing, I was sure I’d lose touch with these friends, but we are still in contact, albeit less often. We don’t laugh as much as we once did, but no one seems to be laughing, lately.

I’ve read the words of many writers, and recognize those who write do so for a variety of reasons. Some write to entertain, some to educate, others to persuade. Some simply record their observations, leaving judgment to the reader. Others marvel at the natural beauty that surrounds us, and hope to inspire those who don’t. Many of my friends who write do so because it’s essential as breathing; others describe it more amorphously, as “a passion.” A close friend once confided he writes because it helps him understand the world.

Giving up writing wasn’t something I considered carefully. I simply stopped. Admittedly, I thought about writing a lot, just as I still think about skiing, running, dancing, and rock-climbing, since I began relying on a cane to walk. I wouldn’t miss those activities if I hadn’t once enjoyed them all, and I did not give them up willingly.

I don’t understand how some people harbor contempt for those who are less fortunate, and I know it’s senseless to try. I’m certain they’ll continue to draw support from each other, and eventually they’ll simply cut themselves off from anyone with whom they disagree. In my mind, I envision them all occupying a small cramped compartment, where, like the fictional characters who occupied an island in Lord of the Flies, they can govern their self-selected membership as they see fit.

The rest of us, who recognize the inevitability of aging and its effect on our bodies, of unforeseeable accidental injury, of congenital, hereditary, environmental and contagious illnesses, do not need to be presented with statistical or other evidence to be persuaded. We trust our powers of observation and experience and can take some comfort in the recognition that we don’t have to resort to contorted logic to support our opinions.

I’ve learned over time to recognize my own limitations, both physical and intellectual. If I spent every second of the rest of my life trying to understand the world, I couldn’t. I’m glad some continue to try. I need to read their words.

About Jane Wilson

Jane Wilson graduated from the University of Michigan Law School, was a trial attorney for 25 years and has served on the faculty of the National Institute for Trial Advocacy on numerous occasions. She was an Adjunct Professor of Law at Cleveland State University for several years and served as an Interim Associate Professor of Law in the clinical program at Case Law School. In 2009, she returned to the small southwestern Michigan community where she was raised, and wrote a novel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Why I gave up writing

  1. evanatiello says:

    I miss your writing. ❤

  2. sammee44 says:

    Like Eva, I miss your writing too. I do hope you will return, from time to time, to write about your small town with all your wonderful neighbours–kind, quirky and good.

  3. Jane, I miss your writing, too, and find this post so sad, but beautiful. Your friends know and understand what you are going through and I, for one, wish that I could do something to help. Especially something to make you laugh, ❤

    • Jane Wilson says:

      I realized I needed to come back to edit this comment.

      I originally said, “Honestly, I don’t understand what I’m going through. I’m noticeably stronger than I was even last week, which is almost exhilarating. Thanks for your concern, and support. I’m hopeful my improvement will continue, and remind myself daily to be patient.”

      We’re all going through something. Our lives, and those of everyone we care about, have been disrupted.

      I did not recover physically from my second hip surgery as quickly as I did from the first one, but I am recovering.

      Thanks for your steadfast friendship. ❤

  4. PS. You are still one of the best Red Room cheerleaders around! You spread the writings of so many of us, and you are a writer no matter what.

  5. Ron. says:

    This is some really fine writing about why you’re not,,,um…waitaminute…

    Whether you choose it not, wham–there it is. We’re all grateful for whatever you do, JW, and I’m very grateful that you’ve seen fir to re-blog my stuff here on several (ie many) occasions.

    Writers need readers and they need each other, whether they’re writing or not. Stay in the fold. It’s all one can ask.

  6. So beautiful, Jane. Thank you. ❤

  7. I’ve wondered what you’ve been enduring, and, like the others, miss your writing voice, and it’s clear and quiet elegance. I’ve cherished your words and support, and always will. Thanks for what you’ve given us. Cheers

  8. Jane Wilson says:

    Michael,
    You are an inspiration.
    Thanks. ❤

Leave a Reply

