This season is meant to be joyful

A few years ago, when I was living in a house with no insulation and an ancient furnace, I didn’t think about the comfortable homes or the jobs I’d lost. I thought only about improving the life I was living at the time, and the only way I could do that was to help improve the lives of others.

“If you do something good for others, no matter how small, you will make a difference,” I told myself. I still have hope that if I continue doing the right thing, my efforts will be meaningful.

I’ve found myself lapsing into sarcasm, lately, when I’ve been exhausted by fighting the good fight. I can’t offer my exhaustion as an excuse, but I can recognize how it’s affected me, and acknowledge I need to avoid responding to offensive opinions with snarky remarks. Sarcasm is, I’ve found, too easily misconstrued as assent.

Emerging from a state of exhaustion must be a gradual process, I’ve learned, and being “quiet” is essential to recovery. I’m fortunate to have this perspective, while others are struggling in so many ways.

This season is meant to be joyful. If you can, find your joy and hang onto it for dear life, because each life, including our own, is dear. If you can, during hubbub of the holidays, take a moment and find your joy, in some small way.

There is peace within us all.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Jane Wilson

Jane Wilson graduated from the University of Michigan Law School, was a trial attorney for 25 years and has served on the faculty of the National Institute for Trial Advocacy on numerous occasions. She was an Adjunct Professor of Law at Cleveland State University for several years and served as an Interim Associate Professor of Law in the clinical program at Case Law School. In 2009, she returned to the small southwestern Michigan community where she was raised, and wrote a novel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to This season is meant to be joyful

  1. klh048 says:

    Sarcasm, cynicism and exhaustion are part of anger. Do something to balance it out — meditation, tai chi, something so you don’t go to sleep angry and wake up angry.

    • Jane Wilson says:

      I deal with angry folks daily, and their anger has sapped my strength. I’ve realized I need to begin planning not for the distant future, but for a more immediate objective, such as a short vacation to a place I’ve never been. I welcome any and all suggestions.

  2. Ron. says:

    I worried about you very much that winter; am very happy that things are better this year. Nothing’s ever perfect, but things are certainly better this year. I really worried; you might have frozen to death.

  3. Sue Glasco says:

    Yes, as Ron says, many of us who had come to love and admire you on Red Room, were very worried about your living conditions. I especially love this from your post today:”each life, including our own, is dear.”

  4. Jane Wilson says:

    I think many of us take on too much responsibility, and I’m as guilty as anyone. I’m temporarily wiped out, and need some time to regroup. Thanks for your kind thoughts. xox

  5. As you know, I’ve been in a similar cycle. Mental vacations: reading, writing, meditating, a trip to someplace I’ve never been- even if it’s an antique mall or a restaurant on the other side of town. Those mini mental vacations will refill the empty jug, but it’s tough to deal with the anger and sarcasm day after day. Hang in there.

Leave a Reply

