Reprieve

Nothing scheduled. A blank slate. Shall I clean the kitchen cabinets, wash and line the shelves, as I’ve been meaning to do? Drag down more boxes from the attic, unpack them and sort their contents?

I have quarts of frozen berries to use in late fall after all the fresh fruit is gone, a half loaf of bread, some cheese, three quarters of a moussaka-ish casserole from last night. A half bottle of merlot. Some green beans.

The bills that are due have been paid. I will not scrub the floor or paint my nails. I won’t look for cobwebs, or pull weeds.

About Jane Wilson

Jane Wilson graduated from the University of Michigan Law School, was a trial attorney for 25 years and has served on the faculty of the National Institute for Trial Advocacy on numerous occasions. She was an Adjunct Professor of Law at Cleveland State University for several years and served as an Interim Associate Professor of Law in the clinical program at Case Law School. In 2009, she returned to the small southwestern Michigan community where she was raised, and wrote a novel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Reprieve

  1. sammee44 says:

    A perfect “do-nothing” day, Jane–just relax and enjoy the fact you needn’t do any cooking, cleaning, errands or keep any appointments. These “do-nothing” days are rare and meant to be savoured leisurely. . . 🙂

    • Jane Wilson says:

      Judee,
      Keeping the “I should be . . . ” and “It would just take a minute to . . .” thoughts at bay is hard, but they’re easier thoughts to push away than the “I am so overwhelmed, I can’t breathe and I’m afraid I’ll die in my sleep before everything is done.,” thoughts.

      I guess this is progress. xox

      Jane

  2. Rina Macasaet says:

    Nice! Do nothing, that’s actually doing something that’s nothing! 🙂

  3. klh048 says:

    Sounds like a good day to relax— leave those boxes alone unless there is another bottle of wine tucked away there…

Leave a Reply

