Special moments

When my daughter was in primary school, her teacher asked each of them to write about their favorite family tradition. My daughter never let me read anything she wrote before she handed it in, and I respected her wishes.

Their essays were taped to the wall during grandparents’ day. Since her grandparents lived hundreds of miles away, I went on their behalf. One of her classmates wrote, “During spring break, we all go skiing in Switzerland, with my cousins and grandparents.” Others wrote about holiday celebrations with their families.

My daughter’s essay sounded like a lament, but I knew her well enough to recognize she’d memorialized something she considered special. She wrote, “My mom and I make microwave popcorn and take it to her room to watch videos. We pretend we’re at the movies.”

Private time with my daughter was, and is, the most exquisite of pleasures. It’s a time of laughter and fun.  She received great instruction at school, and was a self-sufficient student. Our time together was always special, and memorable.

Despite the passage of many years and thousands of miles, our connection during those special moments is the same as when we shared a bag of popcorn, snuggled under the covers. I’ve never let on that the tradition she and I most treasure began when travelled home from college to stay with my mother, who had the first weekend alone since her marriage.

My younger brothers were in college and my dad was in China. “Let’s watch a movie together in my room,” Mom said. I woke up the next morning in her bed. “Mom, why didn’t you wake me up and tell me to go back to my own bed?” My room was steps away.

She averted her eyes. “I couldn’t. You were sleeping so peacefully.”

Special moments stay with us.

Thanks, Mom.

About Jane Wilson

Jane Wilson graduated from the University of Michigan Law School, was a trial attorney for 25 years and has served on the faculty of the National Institute for Trial Advocacy on numerous occasions. She was an Adjunct Professor of Law at Cleveland State University for several years and served as an Interim Associate Professor of Law in the clinical program at Case Law School. In 2009, she returned to the small southwestern Michigan community where she was raised, and wrote a novel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Special moments

  1. sammee44 says:

    We must be really blessed as our Moms are so special. My Mom has slowed down quite a bit but any time spent on even the simplest of pleasures are extra special. . .and the tradition goes on with you and your daughter creating those treasured memories. . .

  2. June says:

    How special a family tradition. You never know/knew what was going to come out of their mouths.

  3. Sue Glasco says:

    It always pleases me that very special moments can be created so freely if love is present. And I am also pleased at how those moments expand and affect others positively. Your mother to you and you to Kea and now to us. Who knows who may pick this tradition up mext and where is will continue? Going to Switzerland on vacation would be very nice, but so is popcorn at the movies in bed with your mom!!

  4. Jane Wilson says:

    Sue,
    Every so often, I revisit this memory and can feel my mother kissing my softly on my brow, as I drift off to sleep.
    xox
    Jane

  5. Wow, this is a wonderful piece. How I missed it the first time I don’t know, but love the best memories of you and your daughter.

Leave a Reply

