Shaking

Memories of my daughter’s childhood surface occasionally. In her black and white polka dotted swim suit with its fuschia ruffle, orange water wings on her chubby arms, complaining that the neighbor’s dog had jumped into her wading pool as it was being filled with freezing water from the garden hose.

“Mom. Graham’s in my pool.”

My typically distracted mother’s reply was, “What’s Graham doing in your pool?”

“Shaking.”

This weekend, I replayed the scene in my head, and realized I’d embellished the memory. She wasn’t wearing water wings. Her pool held no more than a few inches of water, and she couldn’t drown.

I knew that then. I know that, now, too.

About Jane Wilson

Jane Wilson graduated from the University of Michigan Law School, was a trial attorney for 25 years and has served on the faculty of the National Institute for Trial Advocacy on numerous occasions. She was an Adjunct Professor of Law at Cleveland State University for several years and served as an Interim Associate Professor of Law in the clinical program at Case Law School. In 2009, she returned to the small southwestern Michigan community where she was raised, and wrote a novel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Shaking

  1. Yet children can drown in a few inches of water (think bathtub) and safety is taught early. You did an amazing job, I am sure.

  2. Jane Wilson says:

    Nan – I lucked out, that’s all. Her older sister was, and continues to be, a daredevil. I think the younger one absorbed some of her older sibling’s near-death experiences and has always been more cautious, which was a relief.

  3. sammee44 says:

    I’m always amazed at how “dare-devil” kids grow up to be such responsible parents. My parents were horrified when years later, we told them of our wild escapades when we stayed at my Grandmother’s–ignorance is really bliss in more ways than one! Hearing of your wonderful daughters, you are a great Mom, Jane. . . .

  4. Jane Wilson says:

    I have wonderful daughters. I’m sincere when I insist I can take NO credit!

  5. Sue Glasco says:

    Memory can make good memories even better! (U
    nfortunately, memory can also make bad memories even worse.)

Leave a Reply

