With a little help from my friends

When I was released from PT, the therapist said, “You can climb mountains.”

Until mid-morning, I walk as though I’ve spent a few hours on horseback, but I rely less on my cane when I leave the house.  As I assemble receipts for $11,000 from physicians, hospitals, anesthetists, etc., I listen to Joni Mitchell and John Lennon.

“Carrie get out your cane,” “. . . spread your broken wings and learn to fly.”

I’ve climbed a few mountains in my life, but there are many more to conquer. I won’t be sixty until June . . .

About Jane Wilson

Jane Wilson graduated from the University of Michigan Law School, was a trial attorney for 25 years and has served on the faculty of the National Institute for Trial Advocacy on numerous occasions. She was an Adjunct Professor of Law at Cleveland State University for several years and served as an Interim Associate Professor of Law in the clinical program at Case Law School. In 2009, she returned to the small southwestern Michigan community where she was raised, and wrote a novel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to With a little help from my friends

  1. sammee44 says:

    It does get better Jane. When I had this fall a few years ago, I felt the same but am back to walking miles, line-dancing and Zoomba Gold—must admit tho’, haven’t tried any mountains yet. . .You’re doing great and will be dancing in June! 😉 J

    • Jane Wilson says:

      Judee,

      If I’d told her I’d climbed mountains for a living forty years ago, the physical therapist would have assumed I was joking, as she watched me struggle up a single flight of stairs. My surgeon told me I’d be able to ski next winter, provided I didn’t fall down. I resisted suggesting he keep his day job if he aspired to becoming a comedy writer.

      Thanks for your encouragement. Like you, I’m too stubborn to give up!

      Jane

  2. Ron. says:

    Although I don’t need to use it often or much, I DID have to purchase my cane a couple years ago. I remember the event clearly: I came limping up to the register and, as she rang up my purchase, the spry, 20-something cutie chirped, “Good morning sir! And how are you doing today?’. I kept mum, stayed deadpan, and handed over my debit card, but I wanted to respond, “I’m a gimpy 60-something curmudgeon buying myself a cane. How do you think I’m doing?”.

  3. Climb them you will, my friend. You are taking a step at a time, but you are climbing them. So proud of what you are doing; I know it isn’t easy. ~nan

  4. Jane Wilson says:

    Nan,
    “Disappointed,” does not begin to describe my feelings when I was cautioned not to cross my legs and forbidden to bend more than 90 degrees at the waist. That said, I’m relieved I no longer rely on my cane and the pain that kept me from sleeping is gone.
    Thanks for your support. It really helps.
    xox
    Jane

  5. I’m going to focus on the words “released from PT” and wish you a careful and steady recovery. As for the bills that go along with the treatment…yuck.

    • Jane Wilson says:

      Tracy,
      I was at the breaking point before I made the tough decision to schedule the surgery. My biggest challenge, now, is not pushing myself too hard.
      Thanks for “stopping by.”
      xox
      Jane

Leave a Reply

