I feel much better, now . . .

Many years ago, after briefly losing my eyesight, I was diagnosed with ocular migraine. “It’s a benign condition,” the opthalmalogist assured me. “It’s brought on by stress.”

A half dozen times in my life, I’ve been jolted awake by a snapping sensation in my head, followed by a cascade of heat traveling from my crown, to my neck. I performed a neurological examination on myself and everything worked, so each time I blew it off, although since I’m approaching sixty years of age, I’ve grown increasingly concerned about cerebral vascular accidents.

Today I read something that made me laugh out loud. My condition, like my ocular migraines, is benign, and is caused by stress. We can quibble over whether losing one’s eyesight while driving in rush hour traffic is no big deal, but since I’ve moved to the hinterlands, the risks to others have been significantly reduced.

Guess what I have? EHS. That’s the acronym for “Exploding Head Syndrome.”

I. Kid. You. Not. Google it.

About Jane Wilson

Jane Wilson graduated from the University of Michigan Law School, was a trial attorney for 25 years and has served on the faculty of the National Institute for Trial Advocacy on numerous occasions. She was an Adjunct Professor of Law at Cleveland State University for several years and served as an Interim Associate Professor of Law in the clinical program at Case Law School. In 2009, she returned to the small southwestern Michigan community where she was raised, and wrote a novel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I feel much better, now . . .

  1. Rina Macasaet says:

    I googled it Jane! It really exists!! Very interesting… all from stress??? I learned something new today 🙂

    • Jane Wilson says:

      Rina,
      I had a real belly laugh when I heard the name, too, which undoubtedly reduced enough stress my head won’t explode for awhile! As Ron., said, it’s reassuring to learn your symptoms are “all in your head.”
      xox
      Jane

  2. Ron. says:

    What an earth to live on, eh? So weird to find reassurance in the fact that your head’s exploding.

  3. Jane Wilson says:

    Ron.,
    The name’s a bit dramatic. Then again, I had a boss who frequently became so angry, we “joked” that one day, his head would explode. That’s pretty dramatic, too.
    xox
    Jane

  4. sammee44 says:

    Well for goodness sakes, I just learned something new too! Am so glad that you are feeling less stressed—remember moving can be stressful too, so hope you are relaxing some and just plain enjoying your new surroundings! Sending you hugs, Jane. . . .

  5. Jane Wilson says:

    Judee,
    I think it’s best to laugh at ourselves, whenever we can. The older we get, the more we worry about joints, blood vessels, etc. wearing out, but we also realize there’s little we can do to stop the inevitable.
    Honestly, learning I have “Exploding Head Syndrome” made me laugh!
    xox
    Jane

Leave a Reply

