Formerly fearless

Years ago, I worked for the National Park Service as a law enforcement officer.

I was 20 years old, stood 5’4″ tall, and weighed 106 lbs. I was hardly menacing. The first year I worked there, my arm was in a knuckles to armpit cast, which prevented me from qualifying to carry a firearm. I could have been a dead-eye shot with one hand, but reloading would have been difficult.

When scheduling permitted, I hiked the park with Marty, the snake man, who kept track of the park’s rattlers. I fought forest fires. I helped kids my age who rolled their cars off the side of the mountain and fell from 50 foot cliffs.

I’m now afraid of blobs of fat travelling to my brain, causing a stroke, after hip replacement surgery.

Go figure.

About Jane Wilson

Jane Wilson graduated from the University of Michigan Law School, was a trial attorney for 25 years and has served on the faculty of the National Institute for Trial Advocacy on numerous occasions. She was an Adjunct Professor of Law at Cleveland State University for several years and served as an Interim Associate Professor of Law in the clinical program at Case Law School. In 2009, she returned to the small southwestern Michigan community where she was raised, and wrote a novel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Formerly fearless

  1. sammee44 says:

    It seems when we gain more wisdom as we “mature,”–there are more scary things to trip us up!
    I’m glad you “sailed” through hip replacement, Jane. I want you to know that a 90-year old in my building is back to trekking through the woods after hers. . . Cheers, J 🙂

    • Jane Wilson says:

      Judee – My “procedure” is in a couple of weeks, but I met an 88 year-old lady who was walking without a cane or a limp, a couple of months after having her hip replaced. I’m looking forward to mowing my lawn and weeding the garden in the spring!

  2. evanatiello says:

    I bet you’re fearless about things now that you weren’t fearless about then, yes?

  3. Eva is correct- we just trade one set of fearless stuff for another. I’m no longer afraid of unclogging my own drains 🙂

  4. Jane Wilson says:

    Annette,

    I’m terrified of the stuff in my drains!

    Jane

  5. sense of humor! Don’t ever lose it, no matter the pain. We’re rooting for you!

  6. Ron. says:

    Times changes, eh?

  7. Sue Glasco says:

    Doing what we are afraid of is the highest form of bravery. I am excited for you at the possibilities of that hip replacement. Go Jane!! btw, I loved hearing about your young days at the park.

  8. Jane Wilson says:

    Sue – Mara made me laugh when she expressed her hopes that refrigerator magnets would attach themselves to my behind! Honestly I’m ready. I hope you’ll enjoy my “under the influence of pain medication” posts!

    Thanks so much for reading . . . and your friendship.

    Forever young (and feistier than ever!)

    xox

    Jane

Leave a Reply

