Mystery Meat

I used one of those titles that will repel at least half the population and intrigue the rest.

I recently moved from a place I’d rented just over a year to another, several blocks away. Friends helped me transfer everything, including the contents of my cupboards and ‘fridge. I’ve always followed the FIFO rule (first in, first out), so I defrosted a package of lunchmeat yesterday and ate two slices.

This morning, I noticed today it was marked “Best before July 9, 2008.”

I didn’t move here until 2009.

I live in Michigan, just north of the Indiana border. There are families here who can’t afford to pay for heat, let alone rent. Some live in homes with dirt floors.

In 2014.

Despite the $3.50 price tag on the package, (which I’m sure I bought on sale in the past few months, as I’m the Queen of the Bargain Bin), I can’t bring myself to eat more, even if I boil it in soup for hours, which I typically do with marked-down meat and the contents of dented cans.

I’m buying a dozen eggs from the manager of the video store, instead.

About Jane Wilson

Jane Wilson graduated from the University of Michigan Law School, was a trial attorney for 25 years and has served on the faculty of the National Institute for Trial Advocacy on numerous occasions. She was an Adjunct Professor of Law at Cleveland State University for several years and served as an Interim Associate Professor of Law in the clinical program at Case Law School. In 2009, she returned to the small southwestern Michigan community where she was raised, and wrote a novel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Mystery Meat

  1. Rina Macasaet says:

    Oh dear, a mystery indeed! A saving grace that it was kept frozen all this time 🙂

  2. I’ve got to admit my stomach contracted as I read this. Some things I will eat past expiration date, but I don’t think I can eat meat, cured, packaged or mystery…

  3. Ron. says:

    There is precious little I’m cautious about, but….

    • Jane Wilson says:

      I’ve read the recession has ended, but that news hasn’t reached this community. Thankfully, the manager of the local video store raises hens, who lay the most wonderful eggs.

  4. The irony of buying the eggs at the video store is not lost on me, Jane. I, too, check bargain bins, but stop at expired meat. Regardless, reduced meat (because of short-dating) I buy and regularly. The same with ‘baking bananas’ which are perfect for eating. ~nan

  5. Jane Wilson says:

    I hauled out my bread machine yesterday and made a loaf of whole wheat/sunflower seed bread, throwing in some ground flaxseed for good measure. I’m looking forward to planting a small vegetable garden in the spring.

Leave a Reply

