Walking

No one wants to read about suffering. We want to learn about triumph over adversity, stories of stamina, fortitude and extraordinary character. We want to read about hope and strength, rather than the frailties of the human body. We want to read happy stories.

I love walking. Now that I can no longer ambulate without the assistance of a cane, I struggle to push away the memories of carrying a golf bag for 18 holes, long walks with my dogs, shoveling snow, pushing my daughter’s stroller.

When you can’t get up a flight of stairs except on all fours unless you have a railing to pull yourself up and are breathless and dripping with sweat by the time you arrive at the top, you pat yourself on the back and remind yourself walking is good for the soul and remember the days when you could mow your own lawn.

For those of you who read this, I hope you’ll take a step forward in some sense. Walk to save a few pennies on gas. Walk for a cause. Walk and smell the roses along the way. Walk while you can.

Walk.

 

About Jane Wilson

Jane Wilson graduated from the University of Michigan Law School, was a trial attorney for 25 years and has served on the faculty of the National Institute for Trial Advocacy on numerous occasions. She was an Adjunct Professor of Law at Cleveland State University for several years and served as an Interim Associate Professor of Law in the clinical program at Case Law School. In 2009, she returned to the small southwestern Michigan community where she was raised, and wrote a novel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Walking

  1. sammee44 says:

    Know exactly what you’re going through, Jane. I recently took a tumble and severely twisted my ankle–and really bashed my knee–any weight on that foot/leg was excruciating and definitely difficult to walk anywhere. It was at least 2 months before I was able to walk normally. I never take “walking anywhere” for granted. I hope your injuries heal soon. . .Mine was slow but I eventually got there–you will too. Hugs, J

  2. Jane Wilson says:

    Judee,

    Sadly, I won’t recover without hip surgery, which means sawing out the old joint and replacing it with some sort of metal.

    Hoping to sort this all out.

    Big hugs.

    xox

    Jane

    • sammee44 says:

      Hip surgery is so slick now–I marvel at the technology and what is used–you’ll be “running” up that mountain yet, Jane. I know you will. . . .

      • Jane Wilson says:

        Judee,

        I’m not looking forward to five days in the hospital, or the possibility of having to go to a nursing home until I’m able to manage on my own. I hadn’t counted on this and it’s really thrown me for a loop in a number of ways.

        Thanks for the encouraging words, though! They really help.

        xox

        Jane

  3. Rina Macasaet says:

    I am a walker! I love to walk. It’s therapeutic, it clears my mind, it re-charges the spirit. I can walk until I drop! Walking heals.

  4. Ron. says:

    Not every day, but increasingly frequently I have become three-legged as well.

    Not all that long ago, when I bought the cane, the chirp at the register, ringing me out at the pharmacy, asked how I was doing. I smiled, told her I was an old guy buying his cane, and asked her how she thought I was doing.

  5. Jane,
    You know what I think about walking…I try to walk to just about everywhere (the post office, the library, the bank, even sometimes to the nearby grocery store). I hope you will be walking around soon, my friend, when you are able. Hugs,
    nan

  6. I love to walk, and like all the other things we take for granted- reading the small print without glasses and strong lights, or driving, our aging bodies betray us. Here’s hoping you can get relief soon.

    • Jane Wilson says:

      Since my mother died at a relatively young age, I’ve been worried about cancer. Being disabled from arthritis never entered my mind. I’ve been active and athletic for most of my life. I’m not looking forward to the surgery, or the recovery, but hopefully, all will go well and I’ll be walking, soon.

      Thanks, Annette, for your kind thoughts and friendship.
      xox
      Jane

Leave a Reply

